Our last story has generated a lot of discusison about the lack of competition at the 2nd Street Market. Though our reader offers to allow us to publish her contact information, we did not feel it was necessary, you can respond to her story here. Do you think the ridged menu policy leaves out the creativity and customers service?

“Here is my story!  You can put my name to it, and if anyone feels compelled to make sure I’m not lying, they can email me.  I’ll tell anyone who wants to hear my plea for a biscuit sandwich… A few weekends ago, I went to the 2nd Street Public Market to pick up my CSA produce and have brunch, a regular Saturday morning for me. For brunch, I ordered an Annie’s Special from the Annie’s stall.  The Annie’s Special is an open-faced biscuit sandwich with egg, and cheese and topped with sausage gravy.  I originally wanted one of the breakfast sandwiches with a biscuit instead of the bread but the cashier told me that wasn’t possible.  I ordered the Annie’s Special and asked the cashier to hold the sausage gravy.  He told me I’d still have to pay full price and I told him that was fine.  After a few minutes, my name was called.  When I went back up, the chef (Annie, I presume) told me she could not fill my order as what I ordered (hold the gravy) was not an Annie’s Special.  I told her what I had originally wanted (a breakfast sandwich with a biscuit) and she said that wasn’t possible either.  With no other option, I got my money back and left.

As a past food service employee, I understand the hassles involved in substitutions and special requests by customers.  In this case, though, it did not seem unreasonable to leave off an item from a plate.  It was not even a substitution (although I offered to pay extra for a breakfast sandwich on a biscuit, if it was a matter of cost).  I wasn’t upset or angry when it happened–it was more incredulous than anything else. I just got my money back and patronized a different stall. I also know of plenty of other brunch or breakfast places in the Dayton area that also have high levels of customer service.  I’m sending this along now because it seems like this attitude toward food service is one that should not be tolerated at the 2nd Street Public Market.”


EG
